Thai Massage: Women Correctional Center

**Highly recommended for anyone going to Chaing Mai, and in need of a Thai massage! It’s cheap! Great food! And you can help out a good cause**

In Chaing Mai, there is a Thai Massage program going on at the Women Correctional Center (WCC). This program is to help inmates learn and practice skills that they can take away upon leaving prison. Inmates can choose to either learn the art of massage, or working in food & beverage. This also includes being taught English to help them communicate with foreign guests.

Women Correctional Center

Women Correctional Center

The women then work at the WCC for the 6-months prior to being released from prison. All the money that is collected is put into a fund, so upon release the women have some money to start with. This is actually a really nice program to help reintegrate them back into society, and giving them more focus and an alternative lifestyle…Canada, maybe should take note of this…

The Women Correctional Center, from the outside.

The Women Correctional Center, from the outside.

Outside the WCC, ordering lunch ^^

Outside the WCC, ordering lunch ^^

Women Correctional Center, Chaing Mai

This place is really nice and cozy, located around the North-West side of the old city. I definitely recommend saving your appetite for this place! There is often an hour wait for a massage, and in that time guests can relax on the grounds. There’s both indoor and outdoor seating, and the food is great ~ not to mention cheap!

Lunch at the Women Correctional Center. Noodles in an egg basket with a Coconut shake ^^!!!

Lunch at the Women Correctional Center. Noodles in an egg basket with a Coconut shake ^^!!!

I ordered so may coconut-shakes here…Though it was a bit far from my hostel, I made sure to trek my way here. If I didn’t have time for a massage, I did it for the food 🙂 I really pigged out. I highly recommend trying the food, especially the dessert!

Banana fritters...and another Coconut shake ~ because I'm on vacation and I can! :D

Banana fritters…and another Coconut shake ~ because I’m on vacation and I can! 😀

I found this place out through from friends I met on this trip. This place is also mentioned in Lonely Plant:

1 hour foot massage 160TBD
1 hour full body massage 180TBD

Women Correctional Center

Women Correctional Center

Leave a comment