Japanese New School Year

In Japan the school year ends in March, and the new school year starts at the beginning of April. I really missed my kids, especially my English Club members where we would just sit, chat, play cards. I think I’m starting to get those maternal emotions that mothers get when they see their kids grow up…

Typical & enjoyable day
in my English club.
^^

Finishing school (2010-11)

Last year, my last lesson to the kids was a review game formatted into an English Olympics game. At the end, all students received a Canadian pin while the winning team got to choose between a Canadian Pin, and a City of Burnaby pin. I was actually considering of saving those pins until “Canada Day”, but I knew I wouldn’t be teaching them again next year, and I wasn’t sure if I would ever get the chance to pass it around to everyone. So I decided it’s better to do it now or never, and I’m so glad I did.

During the final days of school in March some of my favorite students actually ended up wearing the pins, in place of their name badge. Naturally, they were found by the teachers, and firmly told to replace the pins. When I heard, I was so touched ^^. Some kids actually attempted to challenge school policy (though I do not encourage!), but it made me feel happy during a time that I thought I was failing as a teacher. Most kids actually did enjoy my classes ^^.

Last gift to my 1st year students
(2010-11)

New School Year (2011-2012)

Today was the first day back at school for last year’s 1st years and 2nd years. We had a morning assembly for about an hour, then students headed off to their homeroom. Starting tomorrow they’ll change to the higher grade as we have the opening ceremony for the new 1st year students.

I’m really going to miss my first year students…in 2 years they’ll be graduating, *tear. Depending on how this year goes, I would like to stay to see them graduate…and hopefully by that time, I would have conquered enough Japanese that would allow me to converse with them!!! GANBARIMASU!!!

Play it cool like Kakashi Sensei would!

Leave a comment