Setsubun (bean throwing)

Happy 2011 Chinese New Year, and Happy Setsubun!

While the Chinese New Year date changes yearly according to the lunar calendar, in Japan, every February 3rd is Setsubun (bean throwing).

Setsubun Tradition

Children wear “devil” looking masks as they throw beans outside. The beans are to chase the evils away and make way for the good luck.

After cleaning the school, a couple of first year classes got to go out, wear masks and they hurled beans into the distance. Usually this is done at home, or at a festival gathering, so this was the first time students got to do it in the school. While throwing beans, they would call out: oni wa soto (evil go out), fuku wa uchi (luck into the house/life).

Setsubun
Japanese Devil Masks

Setsubun Traditional Food

A teacher told me that Japanese people like to eat long Maki rolls while praying for good fortune. He also told me that the Maki rolls are to be eaten facing a certain direction, which varies depending on the year and season.

I didn’t think much of it, actually forgot about it, until I had decided to visit the grocery store that evening. There were TONS of Maki rolls in the cooked foods section. So much variety, it was hard to pick…darn, wish I hadn’t already made my lunch for the next day.

Setsubun
Long Maki roll for Setsubun

I assume because I’m not Japanese the eating direction won’t pertain to me…but just in case, I’ll rotate in my seat every so often making sure to hit the direction at one point.

Leave a comment