Fukubukuro (New Year Lucky Bag)

Japan’s shopping frenzy (I was told by a teacher) happens during the first few days of the new year (1st – 3rd). This teacher also told me stores are filled with crazy, dedicated people to be the first to get the best deals.
Scared out of my wits, I envisioned USA’s Black Friday and Canada’s Boxing Day – Japanese style. Large crowds of raging Amazon Warriors and green Hulks. And so, we braced ourselves for what potentially might have been the last day of our lives.

 

New Year’s Day

A day that I’ve now learned to stay home and relax. Almost everything in my area was shut down, and would be for the next few days including the grocery store. Trains and buses were still running. In the city, stores were only closed for this one day and resumed regular business hours on the 2nd.

From Jan 1-3, it’s custom for the Japanese to visit at least 3 shrines and pray. Odd numbers are lucky. I have never seen “downtown” so empty, barely anyone around. Quite scary, were we in the Twilight Zone? Or are there zombies silently stalking us?

 

New Year Lucky Bag (Fuku-bukuro)

Jan 2, everything was open as usual. During this time you can find these special “New Year Lucky” Bags. Considered the best bargains of the year in Japan as stores fill mystery bags worth more than the price you pay – that’s the “lucky” part. Some stores gave vague hints by either writing (I.e. coat, shirt, sweater, scarf, etc.), or showing pictures of similar styles.

New Year Lucky Bag (Fuku-bukuro)

My New Year Lucky Bag (Fuku-bukuro)

Also, if it was bagged in a zipper tote, (instead of a sealed bag) you could pull the zipper back a bit to take a peak. For fun, I got one at random for $50 that included: a coat, cardigan, 2 shirts and a scarf. Pretty nice for spring time, not something that I’d choose but it will go well in the workplace.

Recommendation: Grab a bag from an accessory shop that sells socks. Easily worn, lost, or eaten in the cleaning. In short, you can never have too many socks, and no one will see it if it looks bad! Well worth the bargain. A $10 bag got me well worth over $50 in a bunch of good quality socks, stockings, leggings, tights and another scarf.

Not scary…
No major change in the shopping population from a regular day. Maybe I’m wasn’t in the “best” place to do the shopping. I heard certain parts of Fukuoka had line ups since early morning. Hmmm… must research for next year.

New Year Lucky Bag (Fuku-bukuro)

Leave a comment