Christmas Lesson Plan

The one thing that kept me awake at night – excitement to be teaching English. In the spirit of Christmas, for the love of God! I may be in Japan but Christmas miracles should know no international boarder.  My main game was a PowerPoint review-game. With various questions regarding Christmas facts and past lessons, testing every avenue of their brains: fill in the blanks, translations and listening. I’d say 90% of my classes went really well with this lesson. The kids got really into it, while other times the energy wasn’t really there but the kids were still attentive nonetheless.

Thank you to my friends who made Christmas Greeting videos for my students!

Really appreciated it, they absolutely loved it!

Playing the Game

We went by rows. Each student in that row got a bell (bought from the daiso) that they had to ring if they knew the answer.Whoever answered first and answered correctly got to remove a wrapping layer from the present I had.

Christmas present in class,

I took a box and wrapped it in many layers of newspaper, like one of those present gag-gifts. In between the layers I had a series of surprise cards, each with a different Christmas message. Messages on the card included:

Wear the Reindeer Horns, literally wear reindeer horns (from daiso) until the next kid gets the card.

Hug a friend & say: “Merry Christmas”, this was probably the most entertaining card as the kids ranged from very willing, to shy.

Excellent Merry Christmas, is a card where the classroom applauded to that student.

Share your gift, on the card there would be 2 pieces of candies. The student got to keep one but would have to give the other away.

Leave a comment